Keeping it or letting go

PhotoGrid_1452741597808

As I was going thru my shoe closet, I found this pair that’s a perfect fit for those sunny yet a little bit chilly weather-and can give my over worn UGG boots a break.  If my memory serves me right, these shoes are about 18 years the least.  It still looked good, perhaps because it was rarely used.  I can’t help but smile thinking how old these shoes are and still in good condition, and fell right in with my OOTD (outfit of the day).  In my mind, this is awesome.

Rushing out, I slipped and almost fell–the shoes have no traction at all!!  I was in the middle of should I go back & change or just leave.  Since it’s not raining anyways, I chose to leave and just deal with it if ever.

I was mulling about the shoes as I was driving, trying to find the rationale’ why I kept them for the longest time.  Though awed that it withstood the time, but to almost fall is not a wise decision to ever keep them at all.  Not because it looks good on the outside makes it good overall.  The defect became apparent after I wore it after all.

Then it hit me, I can’t help but compare it with other things in my life. More than material possession, this can also be viewed from the standpoint of interpersonal relationships that I kept for the longest time-be it friendly, romantic, & professional to name a few.

Sometimes, we hold on much longer to something we thought is still beautiful but is actually destroying our being. No, I’m not suggesting give up when the going gets tough. (Hello? I held & kept the shoes for 18 years not realizing I’m only a slip away from getting hurt).  But rather, take a moment to open our eyes and see the reality we are in.

One area of my being that i need to re-examine is my career life. Next month is my 12th year anniversary with the company and to be honest, nothing much has changed. Its more of a year experience repeated twelve times. I’ve stayed with the company, hoping things will be better for me career wise. Perhaps i was not challenged enough to venture out, or i was just too complacent, or was i just too scared to test the waters and start over? (because i don’t want to invest & start a “new” office relationship?, ang babaw… but,  maybe…..)

In my twelve years with the company, I am proud to say I have given my best.  No, don’t get me wrong, I love what I do. I’m thankful for the opportunity and honored to have shared my God given talents with them. But I hope I wont be like the shoes, that after so many years, it lost its usefulness, but rather I’d be regarded as someone who still has her best years to offer. That I still have more tricks left in my pocket. Unlike the shoes, I have a responsibility for my giftings, to reach beyond what my mind can comprehend & give back to where it all came from.

Here’s my take on this:  My 12 year career path here & 18 yr old shoes are not the same. One has reached its full potential,  while the other still has a big room for advancement.  I know I am letting go of the shoes, and what about my career?……

TIME WILL TELL (going back to my 2016 list, 1. Make time for what matters most… )

I have a God that directs my path & I WILL TRUST HIM!!!

Choose happy everyone!

Leave a Reply

